Back
CraftShot Team

CraftShot Team

How many photos should an Etsy listing have

How many photos should an Etsy listing have

Etsy's create-a-listing help page says you can add up to 20 photos and two videos of 5 to 15 seconds to each listing. A handmade listing usually should not fill all 20 slots. A short set that shows the item, how it is used, and the facts a buyer needs is enough.

What Etsy publishes, and how a small shop can use it
QuestionWhat Etsy publishesA practical handmade noteWhat this means for generated images
How many filesCreate-a-listing help: up to 20 photos, plus 2 videos that are 5–15 seconds long.You do not need to fill every slot. A main image, a detail, a real scale shot, one scene, and a gift or fact image are often enough for a decision.If you never photographed a missing angle, do not generate a back view or a second color to fill a slot.
Recommended sizeImage help: a width and height of at least 2000 pixels.Export a large file when you can. The same page says images larger than 1MB may fail to upload on a slow connection.CraftShot has 1K, 2K, and 4K settings. Try 2K or 4K when you need to approach Etsy's recommendation. Those names are not published as pixel widths, so 2K is not stated here as 2000 pixels.
First photoAt least 635 pixels wide and tall, or it may show lower in search. The first photo should be horizontal or square.Keep the product near the center, because thumbnails are cropped to square, portrait, and landscape.A quiet background is fine. The label still has to be readable.
What the photo must beListing image requirements: original photos of the actual product buyers will receive, not renderings or stock photos.The first image in particular should be the real item. For custom goods, a computer mockup belongs in a later slot, and the first image stays a finished piece.A new scene can be fine. A different product is not.

20 photos is a limit, not a target

Etsy allows up to 20 photos so there is room for detail, scale, and use. Handmade shoppers usually get stuck on fewer questions: what is it, what does the surface look like, does it belong in a room or on a person, is it giftable, and is there a side you never showed.

The set below is our suggestion, not an Etsy requirement. Include a frame only when a real photo supports it.

  • Main image: the product is large, the background is quiet, the label is readable, and the frame is horizontal or square.
  • Detail: glaze, stitches, clasp, stamp, or wax line.
  • Scale: only if you actually photographed a hand, a ruler, or the object on a table.
  • Scene: the same item where it will be used.
  • Gift or packaging: the product stays the subject.
  • One fact image: volume, chain length, care, or making time, and only a fact you can stand behind.
  • A second angle: only if the camera saw it.

Size: 2000 pixels is the recommendation, 635 is the first-photo line

The image help page recommends a width and height of at least 2000 pixels, and it says the first photo should be at least 635 pixels in both dimensions to avoid showing up lower in search. That 635-pixel line is not a promise that a larger file ranks higher. It is the threshold they published. The same page says images larger than 1MB may not finish uploading on a slow connection.

CraftShot's output settings are named 1K, 2K, and 4K, at 20, 35, and 60 credits. Those are setting names. Public pricing does not state a pixel width for each one, so this page does not treat 2K as Etsy's 2000-pixel recommendation. After export, read the file's real width and height. Move up a setting if it is short, and compress it if a large file will not upload.

How this relates to AI policy

The photo limit and the question “is this still the real product?” are different. Etsy's listing image requirements ask for original photos of the finished product the buyer will receive. The Seller Handbook article on AI creations says you must disclose when the item for sale was created with AI. That article is about the item, not a synonym for changing the background of a photo of something you made.

The wording can change. Open the official links below before you publish, and do not rely on this summary alone. The longer judgment is in our policy note.

Related pages

Sources

The Etsy sentences come from the official pages below. A direct request to the help center was blocked on the check date, so confirm the live page.

Questions

How many photos can an Etsy listing have?

The create-a-listing help page says up to 20 photos, plus two videos of 5 to 15 seconds. That is the limit. A handmade listing can use fewer photos when each one answers a buyer question.

What size does Etsy recommend for listing photos?

The image help page recommends a width and height of at least 2000 pixels. The same page says the first photo should be at least 635 pixels wide and tall to avoid showing up lower in search, and that the first photo should be horizontal or square.

Do I need to fill all 20 slots?

No. Twenty is the maximum Etsy allows. Do not generate an angle you never photographed just to fill the set. A main image, a detail, one real scene, and a fact you can stand behind are usually more useful than repeated setups.

Is CraftShot's 2K setting 2000 pixels?

It is not a published pixel width. 1K, 2K, and 4K settings (20, 35, and 60 credits). Aspect ratios include 1:1, 4:5, and 9:16. Check the exported file's real dimensions before you treat it as Etsy's at-least-2000-pixel recommendation.