Free AI product photo generator for Etsy: what's actually free
Most tools advertised as a free AI product photo generator give you a limited trial, not unlimited images. CraftShot gives new accounts 100 credits, about five images at 1K, with no credit card. Photoroom's help center says its free plan cannot be used commercially.
| Tool | Price | Free tier | Best at | Keeps the real product | Output sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CraftShot | Starter $12/month for 1,000 credits. Pro is $29/month and Studio is $59/month. A one-time pack is $9.90 for 700 credits. Starter yearly is $120. | 100 credits on signup, no credit card. At 1K (20 credits each) that is about 5 images. | Handmade and Etsy sellers who already have a real product photo and need a listing image, a lifestyle scene, a gift shot, or a graphic post. | Built to keep the shape, label, color, texture, and visible details, and to change the background, light, and composition. Results can still drift, so compare every image with the item you ship. | 1K, 2K, and 4K settings (20, 35, and 60 credits). Aspect ratios include 1:1, 4:5, and 9:16. |
| Photoroom | Yearly Pro starts at $7.50/month. | A free plan exists. The help center says it is not for commercial use, and exports and AI generations are limited. | Trying background removal before you pay to sell. | Starts from your photo. The free plan states no fidelity guarantee. | The fetched help text does not state a free-plan pixel size. |
| Pebblely | Monthly plans start at US$9 for 30 images. | No free monthly allowance on the English pricing page or FAQ. | Sellers who will pay for a fixed image count. | Builds backgrounds from the upload. | Social sizes are included. High-resolution images cost 2 credits. |
| Pixelcut | Yearly Pro is $8/month. | Limited background removal and upscale, with watermark-free export. The help center says free users typically get about 3 uses a day. | Trying phone edits before a subscription. | No handmade-fidelity claim. | A free pixel size is not stated. The Pro FAQ says HD. |
| Claid | Web dollar prices are omitted. Self-serve API plans start at $59 for 1,000 credits. | Free trial of 50 credits, plus 50 API credits. | Trying catalog-style scenes. Fifty credits cover a few operations. | The homepage claims preserved texture, label, and detail. | The trial includes standard tools. Download size depends on the paid tier. |
| Nightjar | Studio is $25/month. | The Shopify listing offers 6 trial images and does not require a card. | Trying a catalog photoshoot if you already use Shopify. | The listing claims logos, text, textures, color, and shape are preserved. | Paid Studio includes 4K. The listing does not say the trial includes 4K separately. |
“Free” usually means one of three things
One is a signup allowance that stops when the credits stop. CraftShot's 100 credits, Claid's 50 credits, and Nightjar's 6 images are that kind. Another is a plan that stays free but is not for selling. Photoroom's help center says that about its free plan. A third is a low paid plan that search pages call free, while the pricing page starts at US$9 or a small credit pack. Pebblely's English pricing page is the third kind.
An Etsy listing often needs more than one frame. A main image, a detail, and a scene can finish a small trial. Treating the trial as unlimited free generation stalls you on the day you meant to publish.
What CraftShot's 100 credits actually cover
New accounts: 100 credits on signup, no credit card. At 1K (20 credits each) that is about 5 images. The 1K setting is enough to see whether a scene is usable. A 2K image costs 35 credits and a 4K image costs 60, so the same 100 credits cover fewer files. No credit card is required.
That is not unlimited free use, and it is not a full 20-photo listing. It is enough to try a main image and a lifestyle scene from the same source photo, then decide whether Starter is worth it. A frame that drifts should not be published, and that generation still spent the credits.
A free plan you cannot sell with, and a trial you can
Photoroom's help center is explicit: the free plan cannot be used commercially. You can judge the background removal. You should not put a free export on a listing you are selling. Pixelcut's free export has no watermark, but use is limited, and the help center says free users typically get about 3 uses a day. The commercial license is listed on Pro.
Claid's 50 credits cover the standard tools on its pricing page. Using that page's own examples, background removal is 1 credit and a standard AI Photoshoot is 4 credits, so the trial is a few tests, not a month of catalog work.
How to tell if paying is worth it
Use the item you plan to list, not a sample product. After the trial, ask two questions: are the label and the shape still there, and does the scene make the item easier to understand? If the free result replaces the product, a paid tier usually buys more of the same problem, faster.
Related pages
Sources
Free rules come only from the official pages below. An unlimited-free claim that those pages do not make is not repeated here.
